Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is the national space agency of India, which operates under the Department of Space (DOS). The prime objective of ISRO is to develop space technology and its application to various national needs.

ISRO over the year has launched several space systems, including the Indian National Satellite (INSAT) system for telecommunication, television broadcasting, meteorology, and disaster warning and the Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) satellites for resource monitoring and management. Besides this, ISRO has developed launch vehicles- the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) for putting satellites into polar orbit and the Geostationary Space Launch Vehicle (GSLV) for placing satellites into geostationary orbit. ISRO has the world's largest constellation of remote-sensing satellites and operates the two-satellite navigation systems GAGAN and NAVIC. It has sent two missions to the Moon and one to Mars. ISRO promotes extensive international cooperation’s and handholds Indian industry for its space activities.